WHen I’m revisiting computer science and thinking about Georgia Tech’s AI and ML courses one question which pops up is:

Why are you looking at this again?

Yet if you were to ask me truthfully; especially for these two courses I would say without a doubt I do not regret doing them. Why do I feel this way? In some way it is a reflection of the education system, where we constantly re-learn ideas over and over again.

For example in Mathematics, you are taught Calculus, and then afterwards Real Analysis. In Real Analysis you basically take exactly the same material but you prove the theorems and gain a deeper understanding as a result. This is the same for computer science in the AI/ML fields. You may gain a high level understand of how things work, but it is when you get a deeper understand that is where the appreciation comes from.