Here are some notes based on a toastmasters session (November 2013) with Ben Reeve from Inform, there notes are just for my own sake, and maybe helpful for any readers.

The goal of framing is how to approach difficult questions. This can be important for people who may sometimes be too direct, or perhaps require some structure. Placing objections is often times one of the hardest thing you have to do, whether it is in your personal or professional life.

In general, it follows a simple sequence.

1. Universals (Setting the Scene)

Come to some level of agreement and common ground.

We live in a world…
Have you experienced…

2. Would it be wonderful

Aim for the moral? high ground.

I had an experience
Think about how much easier

3. Pacing Out Objections

Concentrate on using the word and!

I appreciate
I hear
I imagine

4. Transition

Make sure you keep an open mind

I propose
I invite