Here is an outline of how I managed to use SVG elements ‘responsive’. I am be no means an expert by javascript, infact I would actually say I’m a copy and paste programmer when it comes to javascript.

My trail of though on how you could make SVG elements reponsive is through jQuery. More specifically through $(window).resize.

After defining a function which will draw the SVG element based on the browser size, then $(window).resize function will redraw the svg appropriately.

$(window).resize(function() {
    draw();
});

Is this the most optimal solution? Probably not. But it works! Until I expand my skillset this is how I would approach the problem.

A working example is located here. This is based on an example provided by Helen Lu from Stanford University.

The next thing is to get it working with bootstrap.